Status Update

It has been one week almost to the minute since I deleted all social media apps from my phone and signed out of all accounts on my computer. I hate to admit, one week away from social media has actually been really hard. It’s not so much me wanting to know what is going on every minute of every day as it is me being bored and grabbing my phone out of habit. Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, repeat.

While it has been difficult, I have found plenty to fill my time. It is amazing how much reading you can actually get done when your mind isn’t pre-occupied with social media. However, the last couple of days, I have been getting these emails from both Instagram and Facebook… “Erin, see what is going on in the lives of so-and-so.” “Erin, you have 85 notifications, 3 friend requests, and 4 event invitations”. Little teasers of what I am missing out on. Quick! Delete email before you enter the black hole that is social media!

These emails really got me to thinking… And please note before I say this, I do not think social media is evil. I do not think it is the spawn of satan. However, I do think it can be a stumbling block for many. Anyway, back to this discovery…

In the very beginning of the bible, the serpent tempts Eve with the fruit from the tree in the garden. A tree of which God specifically told her she was not to eat from. The serpent tempted Eve by saying “You will not certainly die. For God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” (Gen. 3:4-5)

Eve’s “ability to know good and evil”, is my multiple Facebook notifications. While I don’t think me giving into social media before 30 days is over will lead to the fall of man, I made a promise. To myself and God. Because I saw social media as a stumbling block. The enemy was using it to speak lies into my life. Telling me I was not good enough. I needed to take a break and allow God to show me the person He see’s rather than see everything I am not.

We are always going to be tempted. Satan will always find our achilles heel and use it against us. He will fill our head with lies and try to make us believe the worst in ourselves. The best we can do is #blockoutthehater. Know God’s promise is greater than Satan’s little temptation nuggets. Trust in Him and for the love…. Don’t be Eve!

Leave a Reply

